Happy Veteran’s Day!

JB Military

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. John 15:13

 

Happy Veteran’s Day to all the veterans and military families! I know you don’t like to be recognized, but you certainly deserve it! We take for granted what you sacrifice daily. Thank you for your service!

Happy Veteran’s Day to my favorite vet: Jerod. He accomplished many great things while in the Army, most of which he’ll never tell you about. I remember writing him letters while he was in Iraq and celebrating his return with a homemade picnic and concert on the lawn (we were still just friends, you see).

Jerod said he still remembers coming home like it was yesterday. It was 2003 on Christmas Day. His plane landed at 10:00am and this photo was taken at 11:00am. His brothers, mother, grandfather and uncle were able to welcome him home. I remember seeing him later that week because he had complained that everyone said “come see me” and appreciated that I was the only one who actually went to him (we were still just friends, you see). I gave him a box of goodies that my mom and had I prepared to mail overseas, but thankfully, I got to watch him open it in person!

I’m happy to say that ten years later I married that handsome hero! :) I’m eternally grateful for his service, his commitment and his love.

Challenge: Thank a Veteran’s Day Hero today! If you know one or see one as you go throughout your day, thank them with a handshake, a hug or some coffee! Yours may be the only thanks they receive today. :)

Leave a Reply

