Fear Punch Friday: Fear of What’s To Come

Screen Shot 2013-10-11 at 6.42.34 AM(via)

Have you ever been forced to wonder “what’s next?”

I mean, sure we all think about it from time to time, but there are certain points in our lives when we’ve intentionally had to wonder what God has planned for our next chapter.
But, sometimes that innocent wonder turns into nagging fear…

Will I find a job after school?
Will I make enough money to pay my bills?
Will I get laid off?
Will there be an emergency when I have no savings?
Will I fail my family?
Will I fail myself?
What will the next sunrise bring…?

Well, my friends, I have some bad news. We don’t know what’s next. Only God does. But, maybe that’s actually good news. Since we don’t know what tomorrow will bring, it’s not our responsibility! I’m pretty excited about that (one less thing not on my To Do List)! Can I get an AMEN?!

Our job is to pray, be patient, cool, calm, and collective. And wait. And wait. And wait some more. I know that’s easier said than done, but a patient spirit is possible! In fact, it’s expected:

Galatians 5:22-23 (ESV)

22Β But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

So, the next time we’re fretting about tomorrow and worrying about next week and losing sleep because of next year, we need to remember that He’s already got our calendars booked. The plan is set.

May His will be Done. Complete. Finished. Worry-free. And Beautiful. :)

Leave a Reply

