Fear Punch Friday: Fear of Self

foggy road
(via)

Today’s Fear Punch Friday post has a little deeper than the ones before it. I hope I’ve organized these few ramblings enough to disguise them as planned-out thoughts. :)

One of the things I fear is being myself. I always wonder, “Will I be good enough? Will they love me, hate me or just ambiguously “like” me?” Truth be told, that third one is the worst.

Do I get in the way of my own self? Some times, yes.
But is that an opportunity to learn and grow? Always.
Am I still figuring our my strengths? Definitely.
Am I afraid to admit my weaknesses? …I plead the 5th.

“Just be yourself, May!” I hear this a lot, but fear tells me that “just myself” isn’t good enough. Truth says it is good enough because He formed me and created me for a specific purpose.

Eventually the fog in my head will clear and I’ll discover that purpose, but that comes with time, experience and trail-and-error. And trail-and-error. And trail-and-error.

Until then, I’ll just keep STARTing.

Leave a Reply

