Fear Punch Friday: Pills, Pills, Pills

pills

One of the fears I’ve recently overcome is that of swallowing pills. I mean, how could I have been so afraid of something so tiny (except those two horse pills, amiright??)? This is how…

It started when I choked on a mint at my uncle’s funeral (yep) when I was a wee lass. I remember my mom throwing me over her should and flying down a hallway into another room to perform the heimlich (thanks, Super Mom!). Thankfully, the pill came out! Then sadly, my new fear sunk in.

For 20+ years, I did everything in my power to not take pills, no matter how teensy tiny they were. I crushed them and sprinkled them on food (yuck). I stuck them on bananas and ‘ate’ them (gag). I even took this for my sore hip (ohmagah). I also took the liquid alternatives to pills (shootmenow). If a pill was my only choice, it would take me 5 minutes to swallow just one.

Finally, two years ago a friend who had overcome this fear told me that it was all in my head. The pill wasn’t going to get stuck, cause my throat to collapse and suffocate me. They said to just take it with a big gulp of water and swallow it before giving fear a chance. Then the demonstrated this like a champ with six pills! So, after many a self pep talk, I did it. And guess what? I lived to blog about it! I eventually worked my way up to three tiny pills at once followed by one huge pill after that.

Every now and then I catch myself falling back into my old habit, but then I power through it and slam back my cup. Bottoms up!

I’ve met a lot of people who fear swallowing pills. Are you one of them?

6 thoughts on “Fear Punch Friday: Pills, Pills, Pills

  1. my dad use to try to teach my using smartees. I STILL hate taking meds – maybe it was God’s joke for me being so bad at taking any meds when I was little. I treated pills and liquid the same way. I wanted none of it.

Leave a Reply

