Fear Punch Friday, Celebrity-Style

fangirl_face_by_evilmusman-d5eyg1l(via)

Today’s edition of Fear Punch Friday is brought to you by every fangirl in the world.

It’s been a slow work week for me, which is very rare considering I’m in the fast-paced advertising industry. At about 2:00pm on Wednesday afternoon, I learned that one of my favorite celebrities was going to be in town doing a live radio interview the next morning. Immediately I thought, “Oh my gosh. I want to go!!”

Then fear started pouring in…

“You can’t go. You have work to do.”

“It’s not fair that you go while everyone else has to stay at the office.”

“Your bosses will be disappointed that you want to leave for work a celebrity.”

“It’s too short of a notice. Don’t ask off.”

“Don’t even bother. They’ll just say no.”

When I fought through all of those thoughts and was approved to take the morning off, that’s when fear hit me where it hurt the most:

“You’re a bad wife for lusting after another man.”

Oh, man did that took the wind out of my sails. I was a sinking ship for most of the evening, feeling down and guilty about being excited to be 15 feet away from someone I’ve found attractive for years. Was I putting in more effort into this than I was my marriage? Was I committing adultery? Was everyone pointing at me and judging? What will my husband say?

I finally faced that awful fear and prayed, “Lord, if this is truly not what I should be doing. Don’t let it happen and let the words come from my husband.”

So I waited until my husband got home and told him my guilty feelings. He looked at me and said, “Now that’s just silly! It’s ok to be a 13-year-old girl again and go see a celebrity. Nothing will or would ever come of it. Any feelings of guilt are from you, not me.”

*POW*POW* Take that, fear! No more morphing a celebrity crush into something more. This is normal and I’m a good wife for having considered my husbands feelings. Instantly I felt better! :)

So, without further ado, I give you my fun, fear-free Thursday morning with my friend Heather. We visited Kidd Kraddick in The Morning while they interviewed Joseph Gordon-Levitt (JGL). It started at 4:30am, got exciting at 7:30am and ended at 8:30am. I was at work by 9:00am, just 30 minutes after start time (fear said I wouldn’t be there until noon).

1175521_10151788622864154_142826687_n(via)

JGL photo 1Outside the Kidd Kraddick studio before the interview

JGL photo 2Fangirl

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 7.20.15 AMJGL!! (via)

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 7.19.51 AMvia Heather

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 7.19.16 AMWith Big Al Mack, one of the DJ’s (JGL did not come outside, but we love Big Al, too) (via)

Heather and I had a blast being 13 again :) It was totally worth the early wake-up, the almost-lost keys (mine), fighting through the humidity, and peering through heads and windows just for a glimpse. :)

If you’re also a fan of Hit Record Joe, check out the full interview video here. It’s a lot more exciting than my blurry phone photos. You’re welcome. ;)

Which celebrities have you seen or met? Was it as scary as fear said it would be?

Leave a Reply

