NEW SERIES: Fear Punch Friday!

lichtenstein-sweet-dreams(via)

Since beginning to read Jon Acuff’s START book and participating in The Start Experiment, I’ve learned to recognize when fear runs its dirty mouth inside my head.

It spits out nasty things like this:

You’ll never be good enough.

You have to be perfect.

No one will like you.

No one will approve of your work.

You’ll be late for the rest of your life. (Ouch)

I’ve also learned how to punch it daily with the Truth:

You’ll never be perfect.
Only He is perfect. Being my best example of Him is my only concern.

You have to be perfect.
Only He is perfect. Failing is human. Getting back up is champion!

No one will like you.
I make friends easily and don’t worry about those who’d rather not return a hug.

No one will approve of your work.
I work from His approval, not for theirs.

You’ll be late for the rest of your life.
99.99% of the time I’m in control of my time. I have the power to change and the community to help!

Fear also tells me I shouldn’t start this as a blog series. I hope it brought a helmet because its time to prove it wrong! Check back next Friday for the 2nd edition of Fear Punch Friday!

QUESTION: What does fear tell you? How do you punch it?

6 thoughts on “NEW SERIES: Fear Punch Friday!

  1. “Only He is perfect. Being my best example of Him is my only concern.” Now THAT’s inspiring! Start! is a great book, and I’ve read it twice so far. Your referencing God in your “punching out” fear really drives it home. Sharing this! :)

  2. Pingback: Dude, You’re So Weird. | shades of may

Leave a Reply

