Our New Money Goal

Hi friends,

I hope you all had a great Sunday! Jerod and I had our mid-month budget meeting today and I’m still amazed by how the more we talk about finances, the easier it gets! I probably get more excited about this meeting than he does {read, FPU Nerd}, but at least he’s a willing participant! That being said, we’ve come up with a new goal & I’d love to share it with you!

Debt Free Christmas
{via}

NEW GOAL: To be Debt Free for Christmas!

We can’t think of a better gift to ourselves our first married Christmas than to be debt-free. We’re trimming expenses, being boring {sorry, friends :( }, staying motivated, and most important of all, we’re on the same page with our finances! We know we can do this. And if for some reason out of our control we don’t reach our goal by Christmas, we will still reach it!

I have motivation on our bathroom mirror, a Financial Peace University progress chart on the refrigerator and a collection of receipts on display to watch our debt total go down. My next step is to add motivation to my desk at work so I can just point at it when turning down lunch at Chuy’s {sorry, coworkers :( }.

I can’t wait to see where we are in December! Hopefully we’ll have our #DebtFreeXmas :)

How about you? Do you have any goals written on your bathroom mirror?

11 thoughts on “Our New Money Goal

  1. Congratulations May & Jerod!!! I am willing to help encourage you in any way I can!
    Lee and I were completely “delivered” from debt in December 2011. I call it that bc debt is a thief. We now own our house, car, truck, furniture, jewelry, we had a “cash-for-college” fund for our recently college graduated son. We are free, free, free!
    To answer your question we had and still have on our bathroom mirror a rotation of scripture promises to remind us of who we are in Christ and how we should live such as “you are the head and no the tail” Deut 28:13, “those who listen to instruction prospers; those who trust The LORD will be joyful.” Prov 16:20 just to name 2 of the promises. The Bible is full of financial wisdom & faithful promises.

    • Thank you, Cindy! That’s so great to hear! You’re exactly right in saying that debt is a thief. It steals my time, my money, my happiness and my future! What a jerk, huh? :) Thank you for the scriptures. We’ll use them as inspiration, moving forward!

      What was the most difficult thing you did to pay our debt? I’d love to hear how you worked through it!

      Thank you!
      May

  2. Pingback: Wednesday: A perfect storm | shades of may

  3. Pingback: UPDATE: Debt Free Christmas | shades of may

  4. Pingback: Pet Sitting: Week 1 | shades of may

  5. Pingback: 2 Movies I Never Saw Coming | shades of may

  6. Pingback: Debt Free Bohons | shades of may

Leave a Reply

